Changing my perspective: 101 in 1001 days

Changing your outlook is both the hardest and the easiest job you will ever undertake. It’s easy to see things in a different light – maintaining that changed perspective is much harder. I’ve been inspired to appreciate all of the beauty in the little things lately. I’ve learned to be thankful for the little things, because those are the things that make all the difference. It’s hard having the bf away and out of contact, but writing to him every day (sometimes multiple times a day) has made me slow down and think about things more. It’s made me reflect on things – which allows me to see the kind of person I am and the kinds of things I want to do in my life. It’s also shown me how difficult it is to slow down and maintain that same clarity when you get caught up in life. We run through our days, tackling to-do lists and trying to fit everything in, and we’re missing SO many things. Taking the extra time to look around and appreciate the beautiful things that we have in our lives is enlightening, but hard to incorporate and make into habit.

There are so many things I want to see and do in my life. I’m tired of saying “someday” – I have realized that there are few opportunities I will have in my life (from a time perspective) to travel and see the world. Being a student, I have a little bit of time left because I enter corporate America and start working all year long for my two weeks of vacation.  So, I’ve been working on my 101 tasks in 1001 days list.  The idea of the project is to take your “things I want to do” or Bucket list… and actually do it. By giving yourself a time span to do it, you’re giving yourself time to plan and execute all the things on your list. I have 31 things on my list currently, and am really trying to put time and thought into the other 70 things I decide to add to my list. Some of the highlights from my list so far include:

2. See a play on Broadway; 6. Build a snowman; 12. Go parasailing; 22. Get a professional massage; 27. Backpack in Europe

There are of course tons of things I want to add to this, but I don’t want to overdo myself. If I keep my list practical and achievable (even with a doozy like 27) then I can ACTUALLY do this. And 1001 days later, I can make a new list and keep going. Life is too short to go through it saying “maybe next year”. So instead, I’m just going to do it.

What would be on your list?

 (http://dayzeroproject.com/ if you want more info or inspiration!)

~ by futurepharmd on May 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
